Fifteen Favorite Songs of 2016

Hello! 2016 may have sucked a lot, but it was a great year for amazing music. This year, I found myself gravitating towards hiphop, rap, R&B, soul, jazz, and funk–this list has a shortage of rock tracks. But I am guessing a return or paying homage to soul, jazz, and funk is the trend of 2016, which I think is really great because I somehow grew up listening to them.

I haven’t listened to a lot of local releases, hence there’s just one local track–I’m sorry. For one of my classes in the recently concluded semester, I had to listen to a lot of Filipino pop (I consulted a well-known chart for this), but none of them really shone through enough to be part of this list. Maybe this is a sign for me to watch out for Filipino tracks next year.

I am also breaking my silence on Frank Ocean’s Blonde. None of its tracks appear in this list. Because I didn’t like Blonde. It’s not on the same level as Channel Orange. OKAY, I SAID IT, PLEASE DON’T FLAME ME. Yes, I was one of those who hyped Blonde up and I think I may have did it too much with the memes and the over-analyzing of teasers. But once I listened to the record, I found it wanting of the magnificence of Channel Orange. This is why, if you follow me on social media, I don’t post a lot of stuff on Blonde. “Ivy” and “Self Control” are good tracks, though.

You’ll also notice that I’ve labeled these as my “favorite;” I’m veering away from calling these the “top tracks,” which I have done for the previous year (years, actually, if you’re my Facebook friend), as this isn’t a definitive list but a display of songs I really liked.

In no particular order, here are my favorite songs of 2016:

  1. 24K Magic – Bruno Mars
  2. Dang! feat. Anderson .Paak – Mac Miller
  3. Me and Your Mama – Childish Gambino
  4. Be Alright – Ariana Grande
  5. Am I Wrong feat. ScHoolboy Q – Anderson .Paak
  6. Higher – Carly Rae Jepsen
  7. No Problem feat. Lil Wayne and 2Chainz – Chance the Rapper
  8. Unstable – Autotelic
  9. Cranes in the Sky – Solange
  10. Ultralight Beam feat. Chance the Rapper/Father Stretch my Hands Pt. 1 – Kanye West (it’s a tie, technically making this list Sixteen Favorite Songs of 2016 lelz)
  11. We the People – A Tribe Called Quest
  12. GOT IT GOOD feat. Craig David – Kaytranada
  13. Feel Like I Do (Al Green) – Disclosure
  14. Crush – Yuna
  15. Burn the Witch – Radiohead

I’ve turned it into a Spotify playlist, which you can listen to here:

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: The Year That Was: 2016 – A Very Nice Mess

Leave a Reply

